The Department is comprised of the following 3 divisions:

Administration Division

The Department’s Administration Division is responsible for: 

  • Planning, budgeting and fiscal management
  • Program coordination and evaluation
  • Personnel administration
  • liaison with city, state, and federal government agencies and the local community

Social Services Board

The Social Services Advisory Board, composed of nine citizens appointed by City Council, advises the Director on community needs and public concerns and reports annually to Council on social services needs and programs.

Benefits Division

The Benefits Division helps low income families and individuals meet basic needs for food, shelter and medical care. Its programs include: 

  • Child Day Care
  • Employment Services
  • Medicaid
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
  • Temporary Assistance to Needy Families
  • And several others

Most programs provide temporary assistance while promoting self-support.

Family Services Division

The Family Services Division provides casework and case management services through federally- and state-mandated programs including: 

  • Adoption Services for Children
  • Adult Protective Services
  • Adult Services
  • Child Protective Services
  • Foster Care
  • Placement Prevention